the lost…the stranded…the lonely..and the insane (plus the bonus)

The Lost

    

              UPV Iloilo                                                                                             Hitch-hike to SM City Cebu

The one who wanders is lost inside his own world.  

Wanderers to and fro never stop until they find the exit.  No finish line and no happy ending.  Just endless wandering.

To expect the unexpected,  the unexplored, the unpopular. 

The lost..the hunter

I just made that up haha! But I think it’s true.  Argue with me or not.   It’s sometimes good to get  lost once in a while so that we can breath.   I sometimes remind myself whenever I travel to just get lost in the crowd or some forgotten street just to try something new. But alas, fear has always gotten the better of me.  Like a yoyo I’d gravitate back to my origin no matter how far I have walked.  I want to change this next time.

There were numerous occasions wherein I have forgone something because of the fear of something that is unknown. Now, I’m slowly changing this.  No more strings attached to this yoyo (ehh…never mind).

The Stranded

                                        Palawan Airport                                              Sleeping en route San Carlos, Negros

He who hasn’t been stranded hasn’t traveled far. 

The sense of hopelessness and hope at the same time. 

A temporary dead end, like a traffic light.

Let’s see I have been stranded at a Bus Terminal in San Carlos City, Negros Occidental.  Also got stranded at Toledo City, Cebu Ferry Terminal.  And I have also been stranded at the NAIA Terminal twice and at Cebu Airport once.   I always look forward to being stranded when I travel .

I just mope around the terminal and sleep somewhere may it be on a couch, or on pavements.  I always thought I was a “taong-grasa” (peasant scum according to yahoo ouch!) in one of my lives. Strange, I gravitate towards sleeping in the streets but not eating left over food at a garbage can.   Anyway,  exploring the city where I’m stranded in is one way to kill time.

The Lonely

 

     Osmeña Peak, Brgy.Mantalongon, Dalaguete, Cebu                                   John B Lacson Foundation

In the end we are but lonely souls thriving to coexists with each other.

Love may end the battle but it is in the love of one self that true conquest is truly grasped.

Solitude has always been one of my strong points.  I could go on for hours and even days without speaking to anyone.   As an only child I’d have been often alone.  I enjoy the peace and solemnity I get.  The feeling that you’re different from the others or nobody gets you was one of my attitudes when I was young.  Sometimes aloof yes that’s it.

But then fate always has its ways to generate some friends that you mutually gravitate towards.  I’m really grateful for all the people that have been introduced in my life from the past years.  Some may come and go yet I still move somewhere else.  I’m good at saying good bye’s sometimes.

The Insane

 

                                                    Palawan Baywalk                                                                  Cokaliong En route to Cebu

You ask me how I became a madman. It happened thus: One day, long before many gods were born, I woke from a deep sleep and found all my masks were stolen,—the seven masks I have fashioned and worn in seven lives,—I ran maskless through the crowded streets shouting, “Thieves, thieves, the cursed thieves.”

Men and women laughed at me and some ran to their houses in fear of me.

And when I reached the market place, a youth standing on a house-top cried, “He is a madman.” I looked up to behold him; the sun kissed my own naked face for the first time. For the first time the sun kissed my own naked face and my soul was inflamed with love for the sun, and I wanted my masks no more. And as if in a trance I cried, “Blessed, blessed are the thieves who stole my masks.”

Thus I became a madman.

And I have found both freedom of loneliness and the safety from being understood, for those who understand us enslave something in us.

But let me not be too proud of my safety. Even a Thief in a jail is safe from another thief.

~ Khalil Gibran

Madness may sometimes be a state of uncontrollable bliss.  O talagang trip lang siguro.  Just recently I picked up the habit of just doing whatever comes first in my mind.  It’s really fun or I guess so.  It hasn’t set me up with trouble yet thank God.  My solo trip to Siquijor was one thing that was a spur of the moment decision. And I never regretted any of it.

Sometimes we just have to trust our gut in dealing with some things. Imagine that everyday could literally be full of surprises. The horror!

The bonus…friends

 

                                                  Osmeña Peak                                                                                                            Iloilo City

 

                                              JBLFMU-CRCA                                                                                                        Villa Plaza, Iloilo City

 

                                                       UPV Iloilo                                                                                                                       Iloilo City

The lost finds friends along the way.

The stranded knows which are true.

The lonely understands.

The insane just laughs.

Different combinations in each path.   Like Geiger Counters they know when you get overboard or worse would go overboard with you if they have to.  Indispensable, true to that.  Friends…

The world is our playground and we will always be home

Thank you for taking the Photos(hehe): Nang May Tolentino, Mhary Mar, Ma'am Marjorie Libo-on, BSSR 2007, Dollai, Nong Joseph Yap, Ma'am Rosemarie Mallo, Ma'am Genevive Parreño,Nang Irene Acla, MM Classmates!
To those whom I forgot to mention here thank you also!
5 thoughts on “the lost…the stranded…the lonely..and the insane (plus the bonus)

  1. Wow, galing! I enjoy reading this. Last photo is my best fave 🙂 I will definitely check that Siquijor post of yours soon! Love reading travel blogs, parang nagtatravel din ako, haha!

    • MARAMING SALAMAT PO! paunti-unti ko lang po tong pinupuno ng mga posts…oo nga nakakapag travel tayo kahit digitally hehe parang nanonood ka lang ng movie o nagbabasa ng aklat…nakakainspire at empowering din ang mga travel blogs

Leave a Reply

