Two years worth of reflection

It’s been a while since I wrote here.  I can’t believe it’s been two years since I decided to quit my job and maybe do something crazy.  I wanted to have regrets over what I did but then I realized that employment can’t measure up to the things I experienced in the past two years.  It was really, as I always say, “a hell of a ride!” Regret would be mind boggling for me right now actually.  Well there’s this parental pressure for permanent employment but then fate has its ways of taking you on a detour.

So to summarize what happened to me in the past two years:

1. I started traveling frequently to Cebu, Manila, and Baguio.

267792_2175747311180_5887382_n

2012 – Cebu (before the quake)

manila

2013 – Manila

baguio

2014 – Baguio

And yes most of them were monthly.  Some of them were unexpected.  And some of them were free, well almost free.  Some were sponsored.  The best thing about this is that I get to experience traveling via roro which was one of my goals!

2.  I trained myself to travel solo

solo

Traveling solo means…

…you are on a budget ~ This is a big deal once you get that 3,500 Yen haircut because you’re stupid enough to get one.

…you create your own itinerary ~ Sometimes you ditch the itinerary and just go by the flow which sometimes works and most of the time not

…you can’t complain ~ Hunger is a primary complain.  Other than that I’m good.

…you have to get out of bed on your own ~ No problem with that!

…you’re fucked when you get back home and you’re broke ~ Been there and done that, still money can always be earned again

…you have to talk to strangers ~ English, tagalog, “arigatou gouzaimas”, “terimah kasih”, and you’re all set!

…something AWESOME is happening to you!

 

3. My life became simplier.

Sometimes different projects would bombard me at nuclear proportions.  But then when I sit down and relax, I realized that they were not that cumbersome and be done one at a time.  I felt like an old man gazing at the sky.  And everything I needed was right within my reach.  I still struggle with money though but  that’s the beauty of experiences. It lets you be more creative and open to everything.

Screen Shot 2014-05-23 at 12.29.21 AM

Me holding a katana (“fake”) symbolizes me starting to simplify my life by cutting out what I don’t need.  See what I did there!

4. Got back to some of my hobbies slowly.

Life wouldn’t be complete without some things to inspire you on your way.  And I have been learning new things and rekindling my old hobbies from my younger days.  And yes, it pains me to mention “my younger days” in all honesty.

stringed instruments Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 11.11.55 PM Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 11.12.57 PM

Music and Drawing has always been a big part of me aside from food.  I could get so immersed in doing these things that even hunger can’t stop me.

5. I get to sit quietly more often now

I’m good at shutting up, may it be my mouth or my thinking.  I could be the idiot that mindlessly stare at something.  Kidding aside I enjoy solitude whenever I can maybe that’s why people would get the wrong impression of me being not too friendly.  Most of the time when I’m with people I tend to zone out because ehhh..I just zone out.

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 11.34.35 PM

And here is a picture of someone who doesn’t listen to instructions or maybe I’m zoned out.

6. I get to see the big picture (somewhat)

Most of the time when nothing’s on your mind you get to see things as they are.  And that they are…it…that’s just it actually.  I like the fact that things are getting clearer now in my perspective.  It seems as if I’m the observer or the old man down the street.  I don’t mind.

headertest

I know this is an old photo but I can’t help but see the big picture (LoL!)

 

7. I got to spend more time with my family

Working online gave me the privilege of spending more time with my family whenever I’m not traveling.  I got to see them in my own adult perspective and I realized how cool they are because of all the things they have experienced in their lives.  It made me appreciate them even more.

Screen Shot 2014-05-23 at 12.32.14 AM

Similar to this strawberry ice cream with a straw berry on top.  It will melt and will not be ice cream anymore.  Still you get to taste it’s authenticity through the strawberry.  Parents and people are like ice cream.  You need to enjoy it while you can and take time to cherish the garnish.  Family is sweet like this berry.  It wil remain sweet for the rest of your life.  Or was this just my excuse to put strawberry ice cream here?

8. I learned not to expect things

In College, we were taught about statistical probabilities on a much head aching scale.  I tended to simulate things in my head.  And that was not really helping me at all.  I realized that in my whole life I wasn’t someone who expected things much because things just happen naturally to me.  So I learned to go back to my pre college attitude and everything is going well again.  Well not going well but things just start to become possibilities and realities.  Whoa! Nerd Alert!

Screen Shot 2014-05-23 at 12.21.13 AM

Not being afraid to leave things behind when you’re sick of it.  But of course it’s just a bratty way to fix things.  Expectation limits the imagination.  But when we try let go of it.  We get this awesome picture of me leaving my backpack to sit around and me to take a photo of it to post here.

9. I got to meet awesome people from all walks of life

No they won’t change your life but they made it brighter.  They were sources of inspiration for me.  Some of them were younger than me but I get to see them as mentors because in my mind I’m still the little kid that looks up the sky.  I made friends with people I maybe won’t meet again or maybe will meet again.

prends

 

10. I got to volunteer for two awesome organizations!

manila2 Screen Shot 2014-05-23 at 12.23.11 AM

A few years back I was talking about volunteering for some organizations just to pass the time and maybe do something worthwhile.  And then these two came.

 

 

2014 became a game changing experience for me.  It pushed me out of my assumed comfort zone and into the unknown.  Cliche as at sounds I am getting used to this change.  I love this change actually! They say your life changes whenever you get to reach 27 years old.  Guess it’s that time of the phase.  I can’t be more thankful enough for the experiences that I had, the experiences I’m having right now, and the experience that I will be having!

3 thoughts on “Two years worth of reflection

  1. Wee! I envy you, alvin! You get to do what you really love and most of all, you are so courageous to get out of your comfort zone and let the tide take you wherever. 😉 it is very difficult really to live a simple life. You achieved it. Me? Im working on it, i guess?! Lol

    • Thanks for the reply asiar! When you get used to the fear, it doesn’t bother you anymore. I’m still learning. And I guess it will go on forever. And I think there’s no such thing as a simple life. What’s simple to you now was not that simple when you were younger. Anyway thanks for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

