Life Purpose List

So I’m reading themindunleashed.org’s in revealing life’s purpose while listening to Sarah Vaughan (Good God She’s GOOD!). I have been thinking about my life’s purpose the website lists 15 things to question yourself to do this.

So here are my answers:

1. What gives me energy?

Activities that align with your purpose will energize you. On the other hand, activities that don’t resonate with your essence will drain you. Be aware and use your energy level as a guide.

What usually gives me energy is when:

a. I play music depending on my mood I’ll play the keyboards, or ukulele, or guitar, or sing, or sing while playing, or sometimes a mix of these things.  

b. Travel or just exploring things around the corner.  Or going through unconventional routes.  

c. When I discover another way to visualize data <- GEEK ALERT!

d. I draw stuffs.

e. Gardening

f. Writing gives me energy sometimes.

g. Smiling

 

2. What excites me?

This is a better question than the lukewarm “What am I passionate about?” Excitement is easily discernible for anyone. And the funny thing is that you find out what you’re passionate about simply by being mindful of what excites you.

“The question you should be asking isn’t, “What do I want?” or “What are my goals?” but “What would excite me?” – Tim Ferriss

What excites me :

a. Music

b. Drawing

c. Travel

d. Minimalism

e. Tiny Houses

f. Gardening

g. Meditation

h. Women’s Wrestling

 

3. What kind of ideas come to me in the shower?

The shower is probably the most relaxing part of your day-to-day life. Inspiration strikes when you’re relaxed, as that’s when you’re most receptive. So be aware of what kind of inspiration comes to you while you’re gettin’ so fresh and so clean.

a. Usually stupid ideas such as elaborate pranks to pull off on my friends or some stupid sayings or quotes that just mean stupid and I mean stupid things.

b. Unconventional projects or ideas for video shoots.

c. Things that I’m thankful for.

d. The state of Women’s Wrestling. 

e. Bankai and Shikai transformations (see Bleach manga/anime)

f. Solutions to analysing client’s data <- see GEEK! 

 

4. What kind of things do people always ask me about?

What kind of advice do others seek from you? This is indicative of the value you can potentially provide to the world at large.

a. People ask me for Statistical Analysis assistance.

b. My friends ask me for travel advice and venting out their frustrations in their lives.

c. Sometimes people would ask me things about music such as singing (?), or making music (?).

 

5. What kind of conversations do I have with those closest to me?

What subject matter do you immerse yourself in with loved ones? What information do you share with the people you care about most? What do you talk about when you’re being your true self?

a. Food, I know lot’s of Food (Jodi Ettenburg of legalnomads.com)

b. My friends ask me for travel advice and venting out their frustrations in their lives.

c. Random facts or ideas that I have at the moment.

 

6. What do I do with my free time?

Actions dictate where priorities lie.

a. Food

b. Music

c. Women’s Wrestling

d. Statistics geeky stuffs

e. Gardening

f. Walking or Traveling

g. Pokemon

h. Meditation

i. Tiny Houses and Minimalism

 

 

7. What topics do I regularly read about?

An obvious way to shine light on your biggest interests.

a. Food

b. Music

c. Women’s Wrestling

d. Statistics geeky stuffs

e. Gardening

f. Walking or Traveling

g. Pokemon

h. Meditation

i. Tiny Houses and Minimalism

 

8. What recurring dreams do I have?

The themes of your dreams will reveal a lot about your subconscious. Search the meaning of dreams to get a better grasp on the esoteric wisdom being conveyed.

a. Usually in school with past classmates and teachers from highschool and some friends.

b. Sometimes flying around the world being very light.

c. Hiding from zombies or monsters.

 

9. During which experiences in my life have I felt the most alive?

A different spin on following your excitement.

a. Drawing

b. Music

c. Traveling

d. Random things about life

 

10. What unique interests, or abilities, did I have as a young child?

If you’re memory is fuzzy, ask your parents for more clarity. This question will reveal a lot about your inherent abilities and your interests prior to societal conditioning.

a. Drawing

b. Imagining different worlds

c. Singing

d. Recreating stories with my own interpretation

e. Watching travel shows

f. Watching animals

g. Imagining a life centered around portable tiny houses and traveling

 

11. What would I be doing if money were no object?

a. Travel

b. Do videos about travel and lives of people around the world

c. Singing and performing cover songs with at twist or some original material

d. Recreating stories with my own interpretation

e. Build a tiny house on wheels and travel!

 

12. What would I be doing if I absolutely, 100%, did not care about what other people think?

Like the question about money, it’s important to ask yourself what you would be doing if there were no limitations. If you were completely free, what would you do?

a. Travel

b. Do videos about travel and lives of people around the world

c. Singing and performing cover songs with at twist or some original material

d. Recreating stories with my own interpretation

e. Build a tiny house on wheels and travel!

 

13. What is on my bucket list?

What is most important to you? What things, when achieved, will create that deep sense of fulfillment within you? These will most certainly guide you toward your purpose.

a. Travel

b. Do videos about travel and lives of people around the world

c. Singing and performing cover songs with at twist or some original material

d. Recreating stories with my own interpretation

e. Build a tiny house on wheels and travel!

f. Live in Japan

 

14. What topics can I blend together to create my own unique niche?

How can you commix multiple subjects to create your own unique mosaic of life? A great example that James Altucher used was someone who loves both basketball and statistics. If they don’t make it to the NBA (which will be the vast majority of people), they can blend their interests of basketball and statistics to create their own unique amalgamation of mastery.

a. Travel, making videos, fun surveys all over the world, and singing with strangers

 

15. If I were to write a short (1-2 sentence) “About Me”, describing the ideal version of myself, what would it be?

I am Alvin, I travel the world, shoot videos of people and places, performing songs at the streets or with strangers, asking random surveys statistically analyze and present them on my website.  When I’m not traveling I live in either Kyoto, Japan or in Dumaguete or Iloilo, Philippines on a tiny house with wheels so I can still travel.

Leave a Reply

